About

If you told me twenty years ago that I will become a dog breeder I would have called you crazy, and probably got offended. Dogs have always been a part of my life: as beloved companions, partners in various activities, my indispensable friends. I fostered dogs, volunteered at shelters, trained “untrainable” pups, played with some dog sport activities but dog breeding was the world behind a curtain I was afraid to pull away to look, afraid of what I might find. My relationship with “where the dogs come from” was not different from that of most dog lovers – apprehensive and uncomfortable, a mixture of painful knowledge of puppy mills, irresponsible “oops-my-dog-is-pregnant” litters and only a foggy awareness of hobby breeding. But then, I fell in love with a Norwich Terrier, a breed that thankfully at the time was in the hands of responsible breeders. And by pulling away that curtain I saw a world maybe sometimes imperfect but based on true knowledge and nurturing in its essence, and the one I wanted to contribute to and strive to make better.

Now in my second decade of breeding Norwich Terriers, I decided to write this blog as a sincere illustration of where some puppies come from, and how for all the ills of dog breeding at large, there is an army of people making a difference. Everything I know I learned from others. I am just a tiny part of a vast community of responsible dog breeders.  I hope that by sharing this road less travelled I might inspire puppy buyers to ask for the kind of enriched puppyhood every dog deserves.

Thanks for travelling with me.

Magda Chiarella (Dig-n-Pop Norwich Terriers)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to About

  1. marie cato says:

    This was very well written, Magda!

    Like

  2. What a wonderful story you’re telling, Magda! Great information beautifully written.You certainly raise the bar on dog breeding. I look forward to future entries! Donna

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Denis says:

    Good advice Magda. I am currently finishing The ABC’s OF Dog Breeding and The Book of the Bitch. This is a great supplement for me – something like the pudding you describe – but for the mind 🙂
    PS: Judy Laffey told me a cute story about you and her at your first puppy show together.

    Like

  4. Lynn D. says:

    Wonderful words and pictures! Could you write a book, please?

    Like

    • dignpop says:

      Ha! The book! Truth be told this blog is a much needed distraction from writing a book that refuses to get finished. Thank you for your kind words, Lynn. Maybe one day.

      Like

  5. Linda Sue Purkey says:

    Your blog is one of the best one’s I have read! Excellent writting and looking forward to many new additions! Green Gables Pugs

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Really enjoying this – great observations about why we do enrichment. Agreed, to some extent we’re hammering a square peg in a round hole for many breeds to fit into our modern lifestyle. Very much a challenge to raise them so they fit in yet preserve breed characteristics.

    Like

    • dignpop says:

      I hear you. I can’t speak for other breeds, but luckily for us Norwich were bred to hunt in numbers and cooperate. For example, one of the breed standard phrases says “never quarrelsome”, so it is not a huge stretch to turn them into sweet dogs. I see socialization of Norwich puppies to be more of a focus on that amicable quality and being hardwired for communication, rather than suppressing any traits. I think that the direction of selective breeding these days inadvertently steers many breeds towards more tameness, softer temperament and that is true of Norwich too.

      Like

  7. Lynn D. says:

    Those puppies just keep getting cuter and cuter! And, sweet Beanie, what a good mama!
    I’m looking at those pups and it looks like they still have their tails. Did you decide not to “bob?”
    Lynn
    P.S. You blog is a high point in my day, reading your informative, easy to read (and delightfully written) text and seeing those cute little boys. Love it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

